Show row count for any resultset

Feature requests and their debate

Show row count for any resultset

Postby EugeneJF » Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:05 am

"Show row count for tables" is very useful feature. But could you implement it for result set of any select? It's terrible to scroll huge results table when a table size isn't known. Of course, row count selection can take a lot of time. So, may be implement some separated control (button, menu, link...) for it.
Thanks.
EugeneJF
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:04 am

Re:Show row count for any resultset

Postby Serge » Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:14 pm

We can implement "show row count" function for custom queries but actually it is quite ambiguous feature.
1. Some databases doesn't support nested selects. Its impossible to query row count without nested select for most queries.
2. For many selects count(*) will work much longer than select itself because select fetches just first N rows in DBeaver while count(*) must fetch all rows on server side. Moreover select may generate infinite (or too long) resultset so any aggregate function can't and won't be executed and will just hang forever.
3. Select count(*) for complex queries may eat a lot of resources on server-side. I know cases when count(*) on very complex query on Oracle eats tons of memory and hangs database server for a pretty long period of time or even leads to server crash .

Anyway, I agree, it is very usefull and convenient feature in many cases.

Resume:
- we won't add automatic row count calculation for executed queries
- we will implement special command (which can be executed by shortcut, from context menum, etc) which will select row count for current query. Similar to "explain execution plan" feature. This feature will be implemented in one of following versions.

Thanks!
Serge
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:24 pm
Location: SPb

Re:Show row count for any resultset

Postby EugeneJF » Mon Apr 11, 2011 7:20 pm

EugeneJF
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:04 am

Re: Show row count for any resultset

Postby sohaib1692 » Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:02 am

Was this feature implemented? It is something really useful.
sohaib1692
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:00 am

Re: Show row count for any resultset

Postby Serge » Sun Oct 19, 2014 7:58 pm

Hi,

This feature will be added in the next version. In fact it is already added and you can check it in nearest EA version as soon as it will be released.

Regards
Serge
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:24 pm
Location: SPb


Return to Feature Requests



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests