MySQL DELIMITER statement

Feature requests and their debate

MySQL DELIMITER statement

Postby erseco » Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:46 am

It would be interesting support the MySQL DELIMITER statement to expedite the development and testing of stored procedures and functions.

Thanks!


In spanish:
Sería interesante soportar el DELIMITER de MySQL para agilizar el desarrollo y testeo de funciones y procedimientos almacenados.
erseco
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:43 am

Re: MySQL DELIMITER statement

Postby Serge » Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:45 am

Hello,

Yes, we are going to add this feature (not only for MySQL). Generally it's quite not easy feature (as we need to make complex analysis of SQL script) but hopefully it'll be implemented soon.

Thanks!
Serge
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:24 pm
Location: SPb

Re: MySQL DELIMITER statement

Postby endo » Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:33 am

Any update on this issue?
endo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:29 am

Re: MySQL DELIMITER statement

Postby carlosspohr » Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:37 am

It will beautiful when implemented on DBeaver!

@Serge, I can test this feature for mysql db if you want.

..every day I need to use cmd or terminal to run my procedures coded in DBeaver :)
carlosspohr
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 11:53 am

Re: MySQL DELIMITER statement

Postby guni82 » Thu Apr 02, 2015 1:40 pm

Hi!

Setting the delimiter would be a great and essential feature!
I'm using triggers and procedures in Firebird a lot and can't import them from a script at the moment.

I could even live with an option to change the standard delimiter from ; to something else.
There is an option called Script Delimiter in Avanced Firebird Driver Parameters. It activates e.g. $$ as a delimiter but unfortunately doesn't deactivate ;

However, congrats to your great work!

Thanks
guni82
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 1:33 pm

Re: MySQL DELIMITER statement

Postby mickmcg » Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:35 am

Just discovered DBeaver and it is best tool of this kind I have used. However the lack of support for DELIMITER in MySQL means I can't run scripts to create Stored Procedures so I still need to revert to other tools when I would prefer to just use this one.

Any fixes or workaround much appreciated.
mickmcg
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:32 am

Re: MySQL DELIMITER statement

Postby Serge » Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:56 am

Priority of this feature was increased, hopefully next version of DBeaver will have support of custom delimiters.
Serge
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:24 pm
Location: SPb

Re: MySQL DELIMITER statement

Postby Serge » Tue May 19, 2015 10:27 am

Version 3.4.0 supports custom script delimiters:
sql-delimiter-config.png
sql-delimiter-config.png (19.31 KiB) Viewed 23245 times
Serge
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:24 pm
Location: SPb

Re: MySQL DELIMITER statement

Postby aleishman » Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:25 pm

Your tool is absolutely awesome but the delimiter thing is a serious issue. Being ablt to set and change the delimiter at will in a long script file is extremely important.

Here is an example of a script:

delimiter $$
drop PROCEDURE if exists `prc_AddVote`$$
CREATE PROCEDURE `prc_AddVote`(
)
begin
-- script code ;
end
$$

delimiter ;
call `prc_AddVote`();
aleishman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:22 pm

Re: MySQL DELIMITER statement

Postby tb_ai » Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:27 pm

aleishman wrote:Your tool is absolutely awesome but the delimiter thing is a serious issue. Being ablt to set and change the delimiter at will in a long script file is extremely important.

Here is an example of a script:

delimiter $$
drop PROCEDURE if exists `prc_AddVote`$$
CREATE PROCEDURE `prc_AddVote`(
)
begin
-- script code ;
end
$$

delimiter ;
call `prc_AddVote`();


Like Serge said, the new version can solve the delimiter problem (workaround solution).
Window > Preferences > Editors/SQL Editor/SQL Processing:
change Statements delimiter: from ";" to "~" (DBeaver only allow 1 char, so I pick "~")

You need to remove the delimiter statement and replace your delimiter with "~"
e.g.
drop PROCEDURE if exists `prc_AddVote`~
CREATE PROCEDURE `prc_AddVote`(
)
begin
-- script code ;
end~
call `prc_AddVote`();

I was using mySQL workbench but after updating my CentOS 7, the resultgrid is no long showing. So I switch to DBeaver and it works very well. ;)
tb_ai
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:15 pm

Next

Return to Feature Requests



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests