Allow connecting to PostGreSQL without specifying database

Feature requests and their debate

Allow connecting to PostGreSQL without specifying database

Postby noirbizarre » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:12 am

When I add a PostGreSQL server connection, I have to specify the database otherwise my username will be used as database name.
I have to had the same server connection for every database on the same server.

Isn't it possible to have the same behavior as sqlserver connection? (if the database isn't specified, list all databases)
noirbizarre
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:06 am
Location: Paris

Re: Allow connecting to PostGreSQL without specifying databa

Postby Serge » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:18 pm

Hi,

unfortunatelly PostgreSQL driver doesn't support connection without particular database specified. PostgreSQL databases are completely isoleted from each other while SQL server databases are some kind of logical entities.
However native PostgreSQL tools allows to determine existing databases on certain server (standard pgAdmin tool works this way). When we'll add PostgreSQL extension plugin I believe it will support this feature.
PostgreSQL plugin development will begin after 1.6 version.

Thanks
Serge
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:24 pm
Location: SPb

Re: Allow connecting to PostGreSQL without specifying databa

Postby jgrocha » Thu Jan 28, 2016 11:56 am

Any update on this feature?

It would be nice to add just one connection to the server and then select the database.

I saw this problem discussed on Stack Overflow , but I really don't know how easy or difficult is to implement such a feature specific to one database type.
jgrocha
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 11:52 am


Return to Feature Requests



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests