[DONE]In Database Navigator view, allow filtering of Schemas

Feature requests and their debate

[DONE]In Database Navigator view, allow filtering of Schemas

Postby golfradio » Fri Apr 27, 2012 4:03 pm

In my company, our database has about 70 schemas and growing. It will be great to have a filter where I can set my preferred schemas per DB connection. If I usually work with just two schemas, I don't want to see the whole list in the view.
The same goes for 'View Tables' editor. There is a find button which highlights matching tables. It is more efficient from a usability perspective to see only the results instead of scroll the list to see the highlighted matches.

Also it will be a great time saver if there was a start up option to open a default editor e.g. if I select a schema, the 'View Tables' editor is opened automatically.

Thanks!
golfradio
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:56 pm

Re: In Database Navigator view, allow filtering of Schemas

Postby EugeneJF » Sat Apr 28, 2012 12:16 pm

There are catalogs and schemas filters in a connection properties dialog. Isn't it a feature you are asked about?
EugeneJF
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:04 am

Re: In Database Navigator view, allow filtering of Schemas

Postby golfradio » Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:23 pm

golfradio
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:56 pm

Re: In Database Navigator view, allow filtering of Schemas

Postby b0c1 » Mon May 14, 2012 8:33 am

Hi!

Where can I find the catalog and schema filter? I can't see it. (DBeaver 1.5.5, oracle database)

Thanks
b0c1
b0c1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:13 pm

Re: In Database Navigator view, allow filtering of Schemas

Postby EugeneJF » Mon May 14, 2012 8:53 am

EugeneJF
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:04 am

Re: In Database Navigator view, allow filtering of Schemas

Postby golfradio » Thu May 31, 2012 6:09 pm

Please treat this only as feedback. I am not complaining.
As I continue to use the schemas filter, it would be fantastic if the the filter was not tied to the connection. What would make it perfect is if I could have a dynamic filter for any object. I could dynamically filter on the schemas and then in that schema filter on objects.
You guys are doing a fabulous job.
golfradio
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:56 pm

Re: In Database Navigator view, allow filtering of Schemas

Postby Serge » Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:34 am

Hi!

I agree, it would be a good feature. It will unify API and UI behaviour.
Probably we'll include it in next version.

Thanks for suggestion!
Serge
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:24 pm
Location: SPb


Return to Feature Requests



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests