Remove extra key press needed when editing table cell

Feature requests and their debate

Remove extra key press needed when editing table cell

Postby raqua » Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:57 pm

Hi,

if possible, can you please remove the extra key press needed, when editing data in table stucture?

Steps to reproduce:
- open any table
- locate cell you want to edit and move on it either by clicking or by moving cursor around using arrow keys
- start typing

Current behavior -> first key press on the cell will switch it to highlighted edit mode, only the next key starts to modify cell contents. So when I start typing "test", the first "t" is swallowed and contents of the cell will be "est"

Expected behavior -> the first key press is already changing the cell contents, so when I start typing "test", the contents of the cell will actually be "test".

In my opinion, when already typing, there is no need to have to type to switch. It seems counter-intuitive to me and regularly causes me to have to retype.
Thanks for considering.
raqua
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:10 am

Re: Remove extra key press needed when editing table cell

Postby raqua » Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:57 pm

This is on Linux x86_64 version.
raqua
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:10 am

Re: Remove extra key press needed when editing table cell

Postby Serge » Wed Sep 30, 2015 10:00 pm

Actually you described already implemented behavior. It works exactly as you described, at least on Windows.
What exactly Linux do you have?
Just tested this on RHEL - it has some nasty side effect with key repeating. Maybe it is somehow related to you issue too. I'll fix this in the next version.
Serge
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:24 pm
Location: SPb

Re: Remove extra key press needed when editing table cell

Postby raqua » Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:07 pm

I am on Linux Mint 17.2
raqua
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:10 am


Return to Feature Requests



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests