Field editing

Note: please leave bug reports and feature requests on

Field editing

Postby arm8 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:07 am

Hi all,
congratulations for this a great tool. So far I'm enjoing it.

Still, I have a problem. When I edit a table, I'm unable to edit the Data.
The result shows table cells with the description, [BigDecimal], [TIMESTAMP]
When I execute a SQL select, the results in the Data Grid appear correctly and I can edit them.
I'm using DBEaver 1.4.0 and Oracle 11g as the database

Am i doing something wrong or is this a bug?

Regards
arm8
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 10:54 am

Re: Field editing

Postby Support » Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:20 am

Thanks for report!

Could you say what exactly data types have these "bad" columns?
This is obviously a bug in the Oracle plugin. It will be fixed in following hotfix version. Which will be released, probably, at the begining of October.
Support
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 10:11 am

Re: Field editing

Postby arm8 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:06 pm

The exact types are:
[BigDecimal] -> NUMBER(10,0)
[TIMESTAMP] -> TIMESTAMP (6)

VARCHAR2 columns are displayed correctly but are also uneditable.

As a side note, when I expand the columns node of a table in Database Navigator tab, the icon of all columns is a question mark.
arm8
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 10:54 am

Re: Field editing

Postby arm8 » Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:11 pm

Hi,
I just downloaded 1.4.1 version, and the data in the table Data tab now is shown as expected. Nice :D

However, I can't edit the data. (Any kind of data)

Regards
arm8
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 10:54 am

Re: Field editing

Postby Serge » Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:42 pm

Hmm.
Generally you can edit table if it has at least one unique key (e.g. PK) or unique index. Are you sure your table has one?

Actually it is not a DBeaver limitation but term of relational theory - row has to have some unique identifier, otherwise it can't be modified in "consistent" way. But we have plans to implement "logical keys" feature - while table doesn't have physical keys user may define some columns (all table columns in general case) as key to be able to manipulate data.

I can't say when exactly we will add this feature, we need more votes for it as it is not so simple ;)
Serge
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:24 pm
Location: SPb

Re: Field editing

Postby Serge » Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:22 pm

I have another idea about this problem - in case if your table has unique key and still not editable.
DBeaver uses different system tables to determine column datatype and sometimes these tables contain unexpected values. We try to handle such situation but sometimes it still doesn't work..
Do you use Oracle 11g? Is it a plain new database or upgrade from some previous Oracle version (e.g. 10g)?

In any case - I've just made new EA version - it is available here: http://dbeaver.jkiss.org/files/ea/ - could you check it?

And thanks a lot for you reports and your patience :)
Serge
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:24 pm
Location: SPb

Re: Field editing

Postby arm8 » Fri Oct 07, 2011 10:17 am

Good news, it works. :D
Using the v1.4.2 the edit dialog pops up and I can change the values.

Reporting it is the least I can do, in return for your work.

Keep up the good work.
arm8
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 10:54 am

Re: Field editing

Postby guimoreno » Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:53 pm

Hi!

I connect to a sql server 2008 database, when i edit a table, the data is editable, but in a query, isn't, even in 1.4.2.
Any help? Tks.
guimoreno
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: Field editing

Postby Support » Mon Oct 17, 2011 8:07 pm

Most database drivers doesn't support custom query edit because they doesn't provide neccessary metadata for queries (source table/column names).
Generally SQL query result is not editable (it may return calculated/aggregated values, result of joins with additional tables without these tables PK values and so on). Query result may be edited only if it is based on some physical table columns and contains some unique key from this table.

Currently the only tested database driver which returns information about source tables is MySQL. In all other databases you can edit tableso only directly.

So this feature is not available for MS SQL and won't be available in nearest future.
Support
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 10:11 am


Return to Support



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests